Embracing the New

Image

(A meditation on Isaiah 65 17-24)

Stand up. Look. Watch carefully. God is creating a new reality for me: a new sense of loveliness in my every day.

The pain, the neglect, the unpredictability: it’s being walled off brick by brick, piece by piece to be left in the past. The effects are becoming weaker, touching me a little less every day until one day I will barely notice the insecurity anymore.

So I’m going to stand even though I may wobble.  I will look ahead, embrace hope and join God in co-creating the future.

The tears fell and may fall again for the little girl: tears of abandonment; tears of ‘not good enough’; tears for ‘too good’ and being brought down.

But I will look to the promise: no more weeping; no more anguished cries; no more little girl frightened and alone; no more ‘What will they say?’ or ‘What will they do?’

Self expression, freedom, exuberance , worth: these will become the new normal.

So I stand and begin the journey towards that day with tiny steps. Slowly building my house on new, solid foundations. So I build and I will make this place my home, I will immerse myself in the new: running and laughing and eating three shortbread.

I will put down new roots and find fruit in the old. I will enjoy satisfaction and discover what love looks like.

No more will ridicule touch my soul; no random chaotic measuring stick stood at my side. No more stolen glory. No more triumphs snatched from my hand. No longer will my legs be knocked out from under me in my moments of satisfaction.

I bring God joy. I bring God joy. I bring God wholehearted joy and delight! Not what I do: just ‘me’.

For I am a daughter, long lost but loved. Before I even knew I needed help, I was held.

 “The Sovereign Lord will wipe away the tears
from all faces;
he will remove his people’s disgrace
from all the earth.
The Lord has spoken.”

Isaiah 25:8 NIV

“Pay close attention now:  I’m creating new heavens and a new earth.
All the earlier troubles, chaos, and pain are things of the past, to be forgotten.
Look ahead with joy.

Anticipate what I’m creating: I’ll create Jerusalem as sheer joy, create my people as pure delight.
I’ll take joy in Jerusalem, take delight in my people: No more sounds of weeping in the city, no cries of anguish;
No more babies dying in the cradle or old people who don’t enjoy a full lifetime;
One-hundredth birthdays will be considered normal—  anything less will seem like a cheat.

They’ll build houses and move in. They’ll plant fields and eat what they grow.
No more building a house that some outsider takes over,
No more planting fields that some enemy confiscates.

For my people will be as long-lived as trees, my chosen ones will have satisfaction in their work.
They won’t work and have nothing come of it, they won’t have children snatched out from under them.

For they themselves are plantings blessed by God, with their children and grandchildren likewise God-blessed.
Before they call out, I’ll answer. Before they’ve finished speaking, I’ll have heard.”

Isaiah 65:17-24 (The Message)

Leave a Reply

